A Japanese Adventure: Akihabara and … Gundam Cafe!

After a quick lunch at Bosporus Hassan (Turkish cuisine) we headed to one of our most eagerly awaited destinations…. Akihabara!

Background:
Akihabara (秋葉原), also called Akiba after a former local shrine, is a district in central Tokyo that is famous for its many electronics shops. In more recent years, Akihabara has gained recognition as the center of Japan’s otaku (diehard fan) culture, and many shops and establishments devoted to anime and manga are now dispersed among the electronic stores in the district.
(http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3003.html)

It is the place to go to enjoy technology, anime, manga, and a fantastic atmosphere!
I had my map (an actual paper map) and I had Google Maps, and I was energized …. I was ready!

The group bus dropped us off at the Yodobashi Camera megastore... a shopper’s paradise.
Whether you are looking for mobile accessories, computers, Apple products, consoles and games, models, crafts, gifts for children…. this is the place to visit. 🙂

After browsing the many many floors of Yodobashi Camera I decided it was time for a little exploration… and the first stop was… the Gundam Cafe!

Background:
In case you’re not familiar with ‘Gundam’: Gundam are mech or mecha or human/pilot operated robot suits (also called “mobile suits”). The Gundam franchise has been running since 1979 (so before I was even born) and is extremely popular.
You can read more about the history of Gundam here:
(http://io9.com/a-history-of-gundam-the-anime-that-defined-the-giant-r-1690326227)

I never actually watched Gundam.. until Mobile Suit Gundam 00 which aired between 2007-2009. This was my first ‘contact’ with Gundam and what fascinated me was the depth of the narrative, the political context and the character development. This particular incarnation of the franchise is set at a point in time when humanity has finally turned to solar power as its source of energy and has evolved technologically to the point where it can harness solar energy through receivers in space and transport that energy efficiently back to earth… thereby causing oil dependent economies to start to collapse…. an interesting political/economic backdrop isn’t it? 🙂

Anyway, back to the Gundam Cafe. In Japan you’ll find many ‘themed’ cafes or restaurants or stores. These are outlets dedicated to specific franchises and the Gundam Cafe is all about Gundam.

We were able to find it easily.. thanks to Google Maps.. 😉 … and I was in for a treat.
The menu was actually based on Gundam 00.. the only franchise I had watched… so I could actually appreciate all the references! Woohoo!
I ordered the Tieria Erde (my least favorite Gundam Meister.. but hey.. it was berry flavor).. 😛

Another surprise was that they had strawberry shortcake!
So.. I’d been hearing a lot about how I absolutely had to try strawberry shortcake and I finally got my chance. It was deeelicious!

For someone who enjoys Anime, Gundam, Food… this place is perfect. I loved it.. it was the icing on my strawberry shortcake of a trip.. 🙂

I picked up a few souvenirs from the attached Gundam souvenir store and we continued our exploration of Akihabara.. more to come in the next blog post! (Hint: More Gundam adventures too.. ;)… )

4 thoughts on “A Japanese Adventure: Akihabara and … Gundam Cafe!

Leave a Reply

